Splash

March 3, 2010 at 7:25 pm 5 comments

So, Saturday was a pretty great night.

We did this church social event/fundraiser. I arranged private rental of the whole aquatic centre at the city-owned gym. We invited people to come and swim. There were opportunities to make a donation to the National Church Relief and Development Fund.* Somewhere in the neighbourhood of 55 people (we tried to count, but they kept moving!) came out to

Remember our baptism
Have fun in the Water
Help our neighbours.

That was the whole agenda for the night. I’m a big fan of the simple idea.

People brought friends.
My boss, who normally has all the gravitas that one would expect of a senior cleric, went down the waterslide… more than once.
Kids came, and parents, and people without kids.
And because it was not-Sunday and not-in-our-building, it was a self-selected group of people who came willing to have fun together.
And we did. In bathing suits. In public. Without stressing about being in bathing suits in public.
And it was awesome.

Afterward, my family went out for dinner.  The pool was only available for rental from 5-6pm, which is normally when we would be eating.  So all of us were too hungry to cope with the 15min wait at the chain restaurant we tried first.  We ended up at a locally-owned place just around the corner from home.  Every time I eat at this restaurant, I come away thinking “we should really eat here more”.  I love the idea of my kids being known in a neighbourhood diner- being regulars.  Ordering ‘the usual’.  Trying new menu items.  Honing our table manners. (Tipping really well when we leave spaghetti all over the table).

In other, totally unrelated news (welcome to my life!) my other church is planning a fundraiser of their own.  Every year they do a fashion show, and the organizer nearly fell over from the surprise when I responded to her announcement that she needed models.  Because I’m too fat to model?  Not at all!  Because none of their (um, male!) clergy ever have before.

And, in checking out the store that is partnering with us for the show, I realized something important.  I’ve been getting annoyed at mall stores for not carrying the clothes I want to wear.  But I am not the mall stores’ target demographic.  I have neither disposable time, nor disposable money, and I’m not looking for disposable clothes.

But… as I crib text liberally from their website… doesn’t this just sound like an awesome place to shop?

“Our fashions are chosen to suit all women, ages 30 and up. We can help you update your wardrobe for work or for play; Help you find the perfect look for a night out or for that very special occasion.”

“Work during our business hours?   Have a fashion emergency?  
Forget to buy a gift?
No problem!
We are more than happy to arrange to meet with you outside of our regular business hours! Just give us a call or send us an e-mail today to make arrangements.”

“We carry ladies clothing sizes 4-20, regular and petites. You will find everything from casual co-ordinates to pantsuits and dresses. We also have unique accessories including jewelry, purses and scarves.”

“…a family business with many years of experience in fashion and customer service. Our goal is to make your shopping experience a pleasant one, and we guarantee that you will leave looking and feeling great!”

The best part? Their winter clearance sale is on Thursday ’til Saturday. And I’m working a half-day Friday.

Judging by every other event I have ever been involved with at this Church, the fashion show will be an evening of camaraderie and laughter and fun and making money so they can give it away. I’m really looking forward to it- and my modeling debut.

*This takes some, but certainly not all, of my discomfort out of declaring “SPLASH! What a great day that was!” about a day that so many people in so many places passed in fear on Tsunami watch.  I wish our small “drop in the bucket” was more.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Fasting Healed by His Wounds

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Val  |  March 3, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    “*This takes some, but certainly not all, of my discomfort out of declaring “SPLASH! What a great day that was!” about a day that so many people in so many places passed in fear on Tsunami watch. ”

    That seemed a little insensitive to me, since on saturday many people died in a real tsunami in southern Chile. Oh, and there was an earthquake too.

  • 2. Cleric at Large  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    Val- you are SO right. And I hope I was aiming for, and fell far short, of something far less reprehensible here. I wrote this “I had a great day” post knowing that Saturday was a terrible, terrible day for many people for exactly the reasons you name.

    Part of how I understand baptism is that it connects us to each other, through the water we are baptized in, the water we play in, the water we drink and gives life, and also the water that is powerful enough to cause immense tragedy. In my corner of the world we played in water, (at an event for which the name, “Splash”, had been chosen months ago). And as we played, people were suffering and dying and grieving and fearing. And the small amount that we collected for global relief work at that event is such a helpless pittance, and yet helpless pittances add up, or so I continue to hope.

    I don’t know how to remedy or address the privilege I have of turning off the news and celebrating on such a day. A footnoted parenthetical aside was not the way. I’m regretting this entire post, on sober second thought. But I’m leaving up, because words, once spoken, can’t be taken back.

    Thank you for demanding better of me. I wish I had demanded better of myself. I’ll try to deliver in the future.

  • 3. Twistie  |  March 4, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Saturday was a horrible day for many people in many places. Devastating tragedy occurred. This is true. It cannot be ignored and it will not go away. It is a sobering truth. We should think of it, and we should do what we can to help those affected.

    On the other hand, it is worth remembering that saturday was a good day for many others. It is never a bad thing to know that good things happen in the world, too. You had fun doing good. Don’t feel guilty for the fact that you had a good time or that you wrote it down. Hope and joy are important in life. There is always a tragedy somewhere to be addressed. Hope and joy allow us to do so and not lose our will to help others.

    Just another view on the subject.

    Best of luck with your fashion show! That store sounds great, too.

  • 4. Val  |  March 4, 2010 at 11:43 am

    I’m sorry, I wasn’t trying to be mean or make you feel bad. I was just correcting you, when you say so many people were in a tsunami watch… well, some people were IN a tsunami, not just watching for it. I was one of the lucky ones because there was no tsunami where I was, but I was afraid one might come. I don’t mean to tell you you can’t enjoy life. And I read the fatosphere sometimes, and you’re the only one I’ve seen who kind-of acknowledged the tragedy here in my country, so hey, I won’t be mean to you 🙂 I appreciate your fundraising efforts!

  • 5. Cleric at Large  |  March 4, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Thanks for coming back, Val. I’m pretty sure you have nothing to apologize for here.
    And oh God, Taiwan now, too!

    There is nothing to say that isn’t trite.
    God help us all.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

