My Mom Rocks Advent

November 30, 2009 at 9:06 am 3 comments

I’ll freely admit- I rarely give my Mom the credit she richly deserves.

Like many mother-daughter relationships, we are simultaneously too different, and too much alike. She can push my buttons like no one else on earth (except, of course, for my daughter). And I hers, I imagine. I have sometimes doubted that she liked me- but never that she loved me.

Sometimes, I just have to step back and give that lady her due. It’s “Christmas List” time- she keeps the list, distributes ideas among her children, and generally makes sure that everybody has something to be happy about under the tree.

This is her list for Christmas 2009:

Dear [Eldest], [Middle], and [Youngest],

I have sent some clothes to Valu Village and still have three closets more,
So I need no others, nor do I seek furnishings or decor,
I have all I want and all I need, so making this list is hard,
but lucky for you it is easy to fill, quite simple in that regard;
Remember the needs in Africa, and the Stephen Lewis Foundation,
Or buy a chicken through World Vision, or books for education,
Think of the wildlife that are perishing, that your grandchildren may never see
And give to World Wildlife Federation; do these in the name of me.
As for something to open on Christmas Day, tho’ you are busy husbands and wives
I’d enjoy some actual photos of families, living their busy lives.
In a book, with labels, and in tangible form, pictures are always great,
[Surname]s* and [Surname]s* and [Surname]s* galore, their houses, their garden gate,
Their workplaces, play places, family time, when energized or tired,
So I can look and see what your lives are like, any old time I’m inspired.
This is my list, for Christmas ’09, you need not spend time in the stores,
Stay away from the ‘flu; I’ve sent my list to you, now please send me yours!

A blessed Advent to all!

All my love,
M.

So I’m just gonna take some time this morning to appreciate the generous, doggerel-writing awesomeness that is my mom. Over here on my anonymous blog where there is no danger of her ever finding out that I think she is (at times) very very cool.

*True thing- All these Surnames are the same. I don’t know which is more statistically unlikely: that three sisters would all meet and fall in love with guys with the same (granted, quite common) last name? That three sisters would all take their husband’s name after marriage? Or that two of those sisters would stay happily married for over a decade until the third found her soulmate?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Moments You Win!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Twistie  |  November 30, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Your mother is, indeed, awesome.

  • 2. Jocelyne  |  November 30, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Your mom definitely has her moments, exceptional on both ends of the bell curve.

    This, however, is awesome.

  • 3. Heidi  |  November 30, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    Very cool – and the surname thing is amazing. You anti-feminists, you 😉

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

