A big load for a small donut

November 24, 2009 at 7:12 pm 6 comments

I was talking with some of my colleagues this morning, and some of them were lamenting that they have people who, when they come for a meeting, bring coffee and Timbits. My boss, on the topic: “That’s just not good”.

me: “What’s not good?”
him: “All those Timbits”
me: “Timbits are morally neutral”
him: “And so are guns, but I know to stay away from them. Sure, morally neutral until they are used. The atomic bomb is morally neutral, I suppose.”
me: (after picking up jaw from floor) “You really need to come to the Lenten Study I’m working on”.

First of all- the sudden descent from donuts to weapons? Really?

And also- they really perceive people bringing them food as an aggressive act? Priests? Anglican Priests, for whom the sharing of the Eucharistic meal forms a central act of our faith? For whom presiding over that sacramental sharing-of-food is a central part of our role? Really? People who want to frame a meeting with us in the context of them sharing food with us is somehow a surprise to them? Somehow a problem?

By the end of the day, I wanted to say this to my colleagues*. And maybe I’ve been reading FA blogs too long, because this seems eminently sane to me, but I’m not sure it would have been heard that way.

Do not receive the blessing of abundance as a curse.
If you eat that for which you have no hunger, if you do not eat that for which you do have hunger– do not blame the food for being available. That is too much weight for a little donut to bear.

*and yet, I doubt I’ll be sending a link to my blog out on the Clericus email list.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Fasting from Fasting Moments

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JeninCanada  |  November 24, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Never underestimate the sanctity of holy Timbits! We used Timbits as a part of our Mabon/Harvest ritual once when our actual ‘bread’ didn’t turn out. It was good.

  • 2. the fat nutritionist  |  November 24, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    You know what’s interesting — at the endocrinology clinic where I previously worked, there was constantly a big box full of Timbits in the centre table of the room where teams held their rounds. On days when it wasn’t Timbits, it’d be a box of chocolates, or homemade cookies, or a jar of hard candies — for all the doctors and allied health staff who were working with diabetic and renal patients.

    I don’t recall people making tortured comments about it, except maybe once or twice. So it always really gets to me when I hear people lamenting about office goodies and whatnot — I want to say to them, “Do you know what doctors and dietitians and nurses are eating at work?”

  • 3. Cleric at Large  |  November 25, 2009 at 12:18 am

    @Jen- a little my-way-is-the-only-way part of my brain just exploded. But I didn’t really need that part anyway. 😉

    @nutritionist- non-stop candy for the caregivers of diabetic and renal patients?! Holy “We are not like them”, batman.

  • 4. Twistie  |  November 25, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    You know, if he objects so strenuously to Timbits, he can always bring in a platter of fresh celery sticks. Then people can pick what they feel like eating, and he is saved, SAVED, I TELL YOU!, from, the tyranny of Timbits.

    If he doesn’t want the Timbits, nobody is holding a morally-neutral atomic weapon to his head. He can decide he doesn’t want one, and do so without raising a stink.

  • 5. Twistie  |  November 25, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Oh, BTW, the cupcake/gun connection has been brought up publicly before…by MeMe Roth.

    And she wondered why reporters from The Daily Show laughed at her.

  • 6. Heidi  |  November 25, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    “If he doesn’t want the Timbits, nobody is holding a morally-neutral atomic weapon to his head. He can decide he doesn’t want one, and do so without raising a stink.”

    Hear, hear. I started up a Monday Munchie club, where people bring baked goods/snacks of choice in on Monday mornings. Someone commented, after saying she would participate, “We’ll all get fat!”

    I reminded her that there are plenty of “healthy” cookbooks out there if she wants to take that route and was hard-pressed not to tell her that a., some of us are already there and we’re not dead yet and, b., that we’re all adults and nobody’s forcing anyone to eat a snack against their will.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

