Outfit Blogging

July 24, 2009 at 8:20 am 1 comment

The whole idea that clothing could have a purpose other than covering nakedness is kind of new to me.
Well, covering nakedness, and an an indicator of willingness (or not) to play along with social expectations.

So, I’ve worried about what to wear to job interviews, and what to wear to weddings. But on an average day, my clothing decisions are based on questions such as “how hot or cold is it? How many difference places do I need to go today? I am doing anything work related that requires me to show up in uniform? What is clean?”

But I’ve been reading other people’s outfit blogs. And Lesley and others have really made me think about this daily ritual of covering my nakedness.

I claim this other role for my clothing. It has the power to affect how I feel about myself on any given day. Clothing can help me feel comfortable, or confident, or pretty, or… it can make me feel constricted or out of place, or ungainly.

So, I’m going to try something for a while.

Each day, I will wear at least one article of clothing that makes me happy. Some days it’ll be the awesome jeans of perfect fittiness. Some days it’ll be the pretty top of flowy comfort. Some days, when I’m constrained by some of the questions above, it’ll be the purple panda underpants, or the bra of ultimate comfort. But every day, this: one article of clothing that makes me happy. I deserve nothing less, possibly a lot more. And it might mean I get laundry done more often. I imagine that it will influence future clothing purchases.

OOtD 1

Today, its the stretchy skirt of paisley comfort. (With a side helping of trying to learn how to use my camera’s auto-timer)
It’s Eddie Bauer XXL, stretchy as all get-out, and came to me second-hand as maternity wear, and I love it. It doesn’t really feel appropriate for work, but its awesome for hanging out with the kids (which is on the schedule for today). If we decide to do something climb-around-y, I’ll go find some bike shorts to throw under it. I like how it looks and feels, but it also makes me feel connected to two dear long-time friends with whom I did maternity clothing swaps. They are raising their awesome kids in another city and we don’t see each other much. I miss them.

So, today, I’m wearing the stretchy skirt of paisley comfort. And a black tank from Reitmans’ end of season clearance last August.
And it’s making me happy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Members of the Body Doctor’s Orders

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. bri  |  July 25, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Yay for clothes that not only make you happy but are comfy as well!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

