His Name Is John

June 15, 2009 at 11:01 pm 4 comments

Not really.

But after a long period of silence I feel like I should be coming back with something important to say.

But I don’t.
I have rambles.

I’ve been reading a lot, and enjoying the new Fat Chat feed. And also reading about Free Range Parenting and it seems like there’s a lot of overlap between the two.

Fat Shaming, and helicopter parenting both have a lot to do with fear and shame. And when I said so at breakfast, my husband said “shame is just fear, with baggage” and he’s probably on to something there, too. If nothing else, they have a whole lot of “won’t somebody pleeeeeease think of the children” and hand-wringing in common. And a ridiculous and ultimately doomed impulse to control EVERY. FREAKIN’. THING.

And I am tired of feeling backed into a corner by fear. Mine, or anyone else’s.

And I want my Church to have something to say about this.

There’s a line in this old Grace “for faith in a world where many walk in fear… we give you humble thanks, O Lord”.
So, how do I walk in less fear?

As a (putative, though still unemployed) leader in the Church, how do I even start this conversation?
Among my colleagues, between my age, my gender, and my employment status, I don’t exactly ooze authority.

But then, I don’t have much to lose, either.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Quick Hit – Summer then and now. On David, and Goliath, and Fear.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  June 16, 2009 at 8:35 am

    I’m a big fan of FRK too and I’ve noticed the similarities between the fat-hating and fearing culture and that of the over-protective helicopter parenting culture. Kinda scary, eh? We can’t allow ourselves to live in fear, however. We have to trust ourselves, trust our kids, and yes, even have faith that thinks will work out for the best.

  • 2. Jen  |  June 16, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Oops, things, not thinks. >_< Fingers are still asleep apparently.

  • 3. Godless Heathen  |  June 16, 2009 at 11:13 am

    I think it’s important to let kids fail occasionally, to teach them that failure isn’t the end of anything. A lot of helicopter parenting seems to be about protecting kids from failing, which just gives the message that failure is this terrible thing. I’m not sure how you view it from a strictly biblical standpoint, but giving kids the message that they must not or cannot fail because failure makes you worthless…kind of goes counter to the whole message of redemption.

    And because nobody is 100% perfect, kids will fail occasionally, you don’t want them walking around feeling depressed and worthless because they couldn’t stop the inevitable. You want them to know that you still love them, that God still loves them, that they are still worthy people.

    That’s just my 2 cents.

  • 4. On David, and Goliath, and Fear. « Ad Imaginem Dei  |  June 20, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    […] 20, 2009 I have been thinking a lot about fear, lately. And although I wasn’t supposed to preach this week, it sorta happened that now I […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

