Friday Fluff: a happy coincidence

February 20, 2009 at 10:43 am 3 comments

I find it delightful that the two posts titles:

“Five Confessions” and
“Forgiveness”

Are appearing consecutively on the Fatosphere feed.

[edited to add: confession without forgiveness seems so pointless- which is sort of what the “forgiveness” post is about. Moving forward after making mistakes- we all have to do it, and if we are in relationship with others in community, we have to do it together with them. If confession isn’t, at its heart, mostly about a first step towards reconciliation- directed towards moving on together, then what is it for?

There was some good stuff about this on (of all places) Ni Hao Kai Lan.
“When you cause a problem here’s what you should do:
first you say you’re sorry then you help to fix it, too”

Wouldn’t that be a world worth living in? Where confession was mostly “I’m sorry about this problem I caused” and forgiveness was mostly “here’s what might fix it, lets do it together”?]

Also: I’m posting this while waiting for the Banana-chocolate-chip muffins that Ruth and I made together to cool. Baking with toddlers is an awesome good time, and the totally-forgiving nature of muffins makes them a good choice for us. (Finding a use for the spotty bananas is good, too).

I love baking with Ruth- and she loves it, too. Most of what we make is delicious, with the bittersweet aftertaste of knowing I have less than 2 years before school nutrition and health programs will start teaching her that the cookies we make together are “bad”.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Adam and Steve Remember you are dust.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicole  |  February 20, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Oh, so true on all counts. Thank you for sharing this. When you mentioned that Ni Hao episode, I could totally hear the little song. It made me think about the current NY Post cartoon issue. Talk about not fixing the problem or saying sorry. But I digress…

    I love baking with my son, who is now five. I have pictures of him from probably 18 months on, helping me bake. I hadn’t thought about what impact the nutrition and health programs will have on that time together… especially when it’s coupled with his mom being quite visibly fat. We’ll definitely have some minefields to navigate.

  • 2. wellroundedtype2  |  February 21, 2009 at 1:45 am

    My princess, rescuer has seen that Ni Hao Kai-Lan episode on Nick Jr. online, and quotes that when she makes a mistake. It is quite effective at diffusing anger, and she is usually quite happy to help fix it. She has truly absorbed that message. Makes me wish there were more Ni Hao Kai-Lan things about picking up toys and generally not making a mess.

  • 3. Cleric at Large  |  February 25, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    WRT2- Ruth gets Kai-Lan’s lessons in her head, too.
    So much so that when she’s gearing up for a tantrum, I can occasionally get her to dance “Side to side, side to side” to calm herself down.

    The more tricks up our sleeves the better, I think.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

