New Look

November 15, 2008 at 9:06 am 1 comment

So, astute readers will have gleaned that I FAIL at NaBloPoMo.

I just didn’t have that much to say, so chose to say nothing.  You’re welcome.

I did get around to customizing my design a bit.  The rainbow/dove image is a fragment of the altar frontal at St. Laurence in the Square. This delightful church and its (sorry St. Laurence) even more delightful sister church of St. Swithun-upon-Kingsgate are nowhere near here. I visited Winchester a few years ago, and when I got home I realized most of my pictures were of paraments. I have great admiration for the hours (and hours and hours) of (women’s) labour that are given to the Glory of God to make the Church a place of beauty. These images- varied, creative, skillfully rendered- were, in the same way as stained glass windows, a visual teaching tool. Maybe I’m overly romantic about it, nostalgic for a past that never was, but I love the idea of faithful women creatively expressing something about the nature of God… preaching sermons with needle and thread.

I chose this one in particular because the dove is an important symbol to me- a sign of peace and hope and the presence of the Holy Spirit. And the colour scheme worked.

Mail Altar, St. Laurence in the Square

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

So Smart! Et tu, Roll Play?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. spacedcowgirl  |  November 15, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    That is absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for sharing it. I love the close-up you selected for your header.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

