This is Me

November 7, 2008 at 2:19 am 7 comments

I’ve decided to post a self-portrait.

A self-portrait

A self-portrait

I realized when the credit card bill came in that I’ve been playing World of Warcraft for two years now. And I think its pretty cool that I can make a character who looks a little bit like me. Snowy Canadian backdrop and all. Not entirely true-to-life, of course. I wish I was still that blonde (I used to be). I wish that I could spend more time threatening evildoers with a mace. I wish that I actually had healing powers. I often wish I could smite. Heck, I wish I had that robe! Its just too bad that a character who looks a little bit like me can’t be human. And that a Dwarven “in-betweenie” is as close as I can get.

I have a lot of fun in this fantasy world that is made up of nothing but heroes, those they rescue, questgivers, and vendors. I know that HUGE parts of real life are, by nature, excluded from the world of fantasy. But I wish Blizzard would introduce a playable race of honest-to-goodness FAT characters. And they could run and jump and swim and fight and dance, just like everybody else.

In the meantime, I’m glad to know that, just like in real life- this Dwarven Priest is pretty hot stuff once you get her out of her robes.

Out of her robes

Out of her robes

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

In which I do a Politics Post So Smart!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Arkveveen  |  November 6, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    I was pushing for Body Type Customization in World of Warcraft, I was doing it alot on the suggestion forums after all… but it appears that this kind of customization will not be seen for years and years to come.

    The programming and modeling for the process of making multiple body type choices would be daunting for the Blizzard team… They would have to make new models for each of these body type choices, especially if one can choose 3 settings; which would mean 60 new models for Blizzard to create. It’s daunting, and difficult at best…

    I just rely on Phantasy Star Universe, or I look for MMORPG’s that allow the ability to create large sized characters… which means relying on inferior games; all worse compared to World of Warcraft. It is unfortunate, but I guess we are going to have to wait awhile to see more body type customization in MMORPG’s…

  • 2. living400lbs  |  November 6, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    Nice 🙂

  • 3. mrsmillur  |  November 7, 2008 at 5:24 am

    Arkveveen, I imagine it would be a programming nightmare. I’d be happy with a single playable larger body type. Its time for Ogres to join the Alliance!!!

    Except that, like orcs, and Draenei, and even humans, doubtless we’d discover that while males are big and muscled, females of the species are built on a completely different scale. Else they’d break the mailbox in Goldshire.

  • 4. Boobsihazdem  |  November 7, 2008 at 5:37 am

    Yay for more World of Warcraft people in the Fatosphere. I believe to a group for female wow players, but many of them go on and on about how they’re pretty/social/skinny etc. It makes me feel like a bad person for adoring my dwarven women, and for being fat and liking computer games.

  • 5. Shinobi  |  November 7, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Hooray for being fat and liking computer games!

    I was off WoW for a while because I’ve been playing almost 4 years now, but I’m back just in time for the expansion.

    Age of Conan which was recently released did allow for body customization, but the fattest you could make your character was… a little thick. (You can also customize boob size, which is really a priority for everyone I know.)The game was okay, but not as far along as WoW.

    (When I started playing WoW there was only 1 auction house per faction. I used to have to install mods just to have more than one action bar. Regular outages, weekly patches, I could go on and on. Age of Concan is in a similar place right now.)

  • 6. Godless Heathen  |  November 7, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    I had a guildmate tell me her female orc hunter was fat. My jaw kind of hit the floor, as I think the female orc model probably tops out at a size 14. They are bootylicious, but not in any way fat. On the Horde side, the closest I get to a character that’s size the same as I am is a tauren, which is more or less a size 22.

    People have complained that the human female model is fat, but the truth is that they didn’t join the hips to the butt very well on the model, so you have this tiny ass followed by thighs that suddenly bulge out. I usually throw a robe on my human females immediately because it’s just painfully unnatural.

    Now, the dwarf women in Warhammer are actually fat. They have a belly that hangs over their belts, and things jiggle when they run. I got to play the open beta, and I wasn’t pleased with the controls, so that character never got off the ground. It’s a shame too, jiggly dwarven women with big-ass pipe wrenches in their hands are the bomb!

  • 7. mrsmillur  |  November 7, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Tauren! I can’t believe I forgot the Tauren!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

