In which I do a Politics Post

November 5, 2008 at 5:43 pm 2 comments

When you were growing up, did you have that kid in your neighbourhood?

The one who could be kind of bossy with the younger kids, but who was also cool, and had all the greatest toys, and was pretty generous about sharing. That kid who, at their best, was AWESOME, and fun to be around, and just made everything seem better. But you had to remind yourself of that when they were less than their best- because at their worst they could be a big ol’ JERK. And it was all the harder to take because you knew how cool they could be. But ultimately, you got along because you basically liked one another, and if all else failed you could always make them laugh.

Remember that kid?

Well, Canada’s got one of those. And yesterday they surprised everyone by having an election!

No, seriously you guys. From this side of the border, it is wonderful to watch your enthusiasm as you get excited about your own democracy. When you are at your best, you really do light things up for the rest of us. And with all love and respect, I (IMHO) don’t think you’ve been at your best the last little while.

My prayer for you is used in my Church, at the ordination of a Priest:
“May the Lord who has given you the will to do these
things give you the grace and power to perform them.”

And God Bless America.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Let’s Play Yoga! This is Me

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. spacedcowgirl  |  November 5, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    This almost made me tear up. Thank you for not 100% writing the U.S. off over the past 8 years. I don’t think anyone could have been blamed for doing so.

  • 2. Deeleigh  |  November 6, 2008 at 1:25 am

    I’m an American living in Canada. I didn’t move here for political reasons, but it’s an understatement to say I’m not a fan of the Bush administration. Over the past 8 years, I’ve been losing faith in my country. All the fear-mongering, the pettiness, the stupidity… I act cynical, but I didn’t realize how it was weighing on me. I feel so much better since last night. I cried my way through the acceptance speech. Now, I (illogically) believe that everything will just get better. Optimism. Yeah, that’s it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

