Let’s Play Yoga!

November 4, 2008 at 8:30 pm 2 comments

In September, Grace and I (ok, mostly I) signed up for a Mom and Baby yoga class.

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect.  My first exposure to yoga came about because my new husband had done yoga before, and took a class at the Y.  I (oh, the enthusiasm of newlyweds) wanted to try everything he was interested in.  So I bought a yoga video to do together at home.  Power Crunch Yoga was something of a travesty.

But “Mom and Baby” was being offered by an instructor I know, and respect.  And other people seem to like yoga.  And my husband has good judgment about lots of other things.  And getting out of the house with babies is almost always a good thing.

I have had a great time.  The 90 minutes Grace and I spend together in class is relaxing, and soothing.  We stretch.  We move slowly.  We breathe.  We pay attention to what’s going on within.  We sing silly songs.  I put her down, and claim a few moments to pay attention to my incarnate self.  I feel good, and feeling good with her is all win.

I’m the fattest Mom, and that’s ok.  I have to modify some poses because of that, and that’s ok.  I’m getting better at some of it, and that’s ok, too.

Ruth found my yoga mat, and asked what it was for.  In the middle of my explanation her face lit up:

“Mommy! lets play YOGA!”

Indeed.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

How Beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news! In which I do a Politics Post

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caroline Owen  |  November 4, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Wonderfully written! It is such a pleasure having you and Grace in the class. Round yogis are closer to enlightenment, you know! I hope you, Grace, Ruth and your husband continue to experience your incarnate selves through yoga (or any other means, for that matter). Namaste.

  • 2. Usagi?! Ujjayi. « Ad Imaginem Dei  |  September 29, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    […] 29, 2009 It has been a year now since Grace and I took/Mom and Baby Yoga together. And now she’s too old, and I’m back at work, and I miss […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

