How Beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!

November 3, 2008 at 7:14 pm 2 comments

This is my favourite picture I took last summer, of Ruth and her Grandma.  I have NO IDEA why I took it, or what I was trying to capture.

But here are two people I love, digging their toes in the sand, after wading together in a lake that stretches off into the horizon.  You cannot tell that Ruth was mugging for the camera, waiting for me to take a picture of her face, her big grin, and (if I recall) the traces of her introduction to toasted marshmallows.

I love her pudgy little feet that have only been walking for about a year and a half, how the shape of them is so different from feet that have walked further, under heavier loads.  I love Grandma’s tan lines- so dark I think they are still there in the spring.  I love how they have been making ‘foot angels’ in the sand.  I love the bruises fading on Ruth’s shin- marks that bear witness to her fearlessness, her lessons in the harsh realities of life and the healing strength of her own body.  I love the cuffs of Grandma’s tucked up capris- they waded out further than they’d planned.  Ruth was braver than we’d expected, and Grandma didn’t hold her back.

My mother-in-law looked at it and said “I don’t suppose anyone looking would know that was me.  Why would you take a picture of my ugly feet?”

Ugly feet?  How can she say that?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Discipline and Self-Control Let’s Play Yoga!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jodi  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Hah! She would say that. But look at what marvelously huggable legs those feet carry and support.

    I also recently took a family feet photo on the same beach: http://tinyurl.com/5a5lk6. It was my first time at that beach in about ten years. I really need to visit your mother-in-law more often!

  • 2. Charlotte  |  November 4, 2008 at 1:40 am

    Isaiah 52:7…that’s one of my favorite verses. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

