New Mommy Fatshion

July 11, 2008 at 8:35 pm 5 comments

2 1/2 years ago, when Ruth was born, a friend passed down 4 nursing bras along with boxes of baby clothes. Those bras served me well, along with an assortment of shelf-bra tank tops, and other easy-access under-clothing options.

This second time around, I decided that after all that ‘my girls’ have done for my daughters, they deserve a break from pit-and-spit stained hand-me-downs. So on the recommendation of some other new-mom friends, I went to check out Bravada designs. Starting with the basics, I came home with two of these. (In butterscotch and blush butterfly, but I have my eye on black and sky blue, and on one of these, too). Sadly, not quite as cute as the design for the ‘lighter’ breast. But cute. And comfortable like woah!

Yay for Bravado for making such a huge range of sizes. Now I’d just love to see them expand the “sugar and spice” and “exquisite” designs to include the fuller-breasted Mom. Just because they’re being fully functional, doesn’t mean they can’t be pretty, too.

Plus, I found a dress!
Clothing right now is all about the easy access, so I went looking for a shirt-dress, or something with a button front. Instead, I found something with a gathered and tied neckline, in these colours, though the dress itself is not shown.

I LOVE it. I must find and make excuses to be taken out to nice places, so I can wear it. But first I must buy new shoes.

Where else have folks found treasures that make you look and feel great, and ensure easy access for nursing?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

There is such a thing as a stupid question. 6 weeks

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kada  |  July 11, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Thanks so much for the links. I’m currently a 40DD, and am contemplating my first pregnancy. It’s hard enough to find bras for me now. Was really dreading finding maternity and nursing bras. Feeling much better about this now!
    Am hoping they’ll have more styles to select from too. We deserve pretty as well as sensible.

  • 2. Miriam Heddy  |  July 12, 2008 at 5:29 am

    I’ve got a four month old and I’m breastfeeding, and I really like wrap dresses and wrap tops.

    They’re very “in” right now, and available just about everywhere.

    I’d also recommend the Maya Wrap sling:
    http://www.mayawrap.com/
    It comes in a Large and XL, and has a long tail that you can drap across yourself if you’re not using a nursing shirt and don’t want to flash the world. I’ve used a Maya Wrap for all three babies (the eldest is now 7) and it’s my single best purchase and the thing I couldn’t live without. I’m 5’7″ and 255lbs, and I bought the Large and it has a tail long enough to drap all the way across my chest, so even if you’re quite a bit larger across, you could still get coverage, and the XL is even longer.

  • 3. kmom  |  July 12, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    There are lots of resources on my website for finding nursing bras and nursing clothing in larger sizes. (BTDT with four children!!) If you haven’t already visited, visit the site and see if there are more companies you haven’t checked out yet.

    http://www.plus-size-pregnancy.org

    BTW, it’s an informational site only; I don’t sell anything and I don’t get kickbacks from the companies for listing them on the site. It’s just a place where a lot of companies that carry plus-size maternity and nursing wear are listed.

  • 4. kmom  |  July 12, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Oh, I forgot to add a couple things…..

    First, my website has lots of other stuff on it too, besides listing maternity and nursing clothing. Lots of info about pregnancy and breastfeeding at larger sizes, many birth stories from big moms (you’d be welcome to send yours in), etc. Stuff like that.

    Second, when I had to dress up but needed easy access for nursing, I preferred skirts and tops….2 piece outfits. Much easier for me than unbuttoning a button-front dress or even than using a nursing dress. Just lift up the top and voila. If it’s cold, you can even wear a nursing cami or tee underneath for extra coverage and warmth. Worked well for us.

    kmom, http://www.plus-size-pregnancy.org
    http://www.wellroundedmama.blogspot.com

  • 5. Outfit Blogging « Ad Imaginem Dei  |  July 24, 2009 at 8:20 am

    […] constrained by some of the questions above, it’ll be the purple panda underpants, or the bra of ultimate comfort. But every day, this: one article of clothing that makes me happy. I deserve nothing less, possibly […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

