Bonus Prize

March 4, 2008 at 7:12 am 7 comments

I never realized before it happened how much I would love one of the delightful bonus prizes that comes with becoming a Mom.

He became a Dad.

I used to listen to him sing her to sleep, through the baby monitor. Last night, I got a little flash-back of that. We were all just hanging out after supper, just playing and watching Backyardigans and dancing to the Wiggles (she’s the most hilarious dancer! Where does she get her energy? And how can I get some?) At bath-time I fell asleep on the couch. Because, apparently, that’s what the third trimester is for: stocking up on all the sleep I won’t get in the three months after. It turns out going to bed at 8 leaves me awake, and all sentimental, at 2am.

So I was half-awake and listening to him read, and sing, and talk to her as she settled in to bed. This child will never, ever have any real cause to doubt how much her daddy adores her. I hope that knowledge– that at least one man in her life will always find her beautiful, and strong, and clever, and funny, and a helluva dancer– will make it easier for her to see those things in herself.

I had a dad like that. I know what its worth. I also know it wasn’t enough.

Meanwhile, there is this human creature who, when she stirs in the night, and is told “Shh, shh, it’s ok, mommy’s got you”, relaxes, and sleeps. There is so much trust there.

Please, God, help me to be worthy of that trust; and an equal partner with her adoring and adorable Daddy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Body By God – Getting to the Beginning. I’m not just pregnant, I’m fat.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dolce  |  March 4, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Beautiful post.

  • 2. Karen  |  March 4, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Dads really can be the awesomest.

  • 3. Jocelyne  |  March 4, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    We both hit the jackpot on this one…

    The Daddy of this house was lying on the floor with his head in the little toddler tent singing “We’re Going to the Zoo” when I arrived home today. I love that my boys will have a male role model who will show them the breadth of what a real man is/can be…

    Enjoy the getting ahead on sleep, you’re going to need it!

  • 4. Bacon's Mom  |  March 4, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    The Dad in our house is upstairs, being a car for his daughter to drive around the living room. He never says “no” to playing or fun, and the joy on his face when he makes her laugh …

    Thanks for this post.

  • 5. katiekind  |  March 4, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    What a wonderful thought about how becoming a mom brings you the gift of being married to a man who is a daddy. I admire my husband so much in the way he embraced his role as a dad to our boys through all the stages of their growing up years.

    I really think your post hits on one key to making the adjustment–and that is learning to treasure and enjoy the way your spouse rises to the challenge and embraces his or her new role.

  • 6. katiekind  |  March 5, 2008 at 4:02 am

    Ack–I left out something and my second paragraph doesn’t make sense as a result.

    I was thinking about how tough it can be to adjust to motherhood–and in particular the adjustment from being a couple to having children. I think what you described is a key part of accepting the temporary “loss” of all-couplehood-all-the-time to being a couple-with-children. As you grow in your mom/dad roles, you bring more to the marriage as well, which gives you more to love and cherish in one another.

    I talk about adjusting to parenthood with young parents quite a bit and I may have to steal your idea!

  • 7. the Body is a Wonderland « Ad Imaginem Dei  |  May 14, 2008 at 8:55 am

    […] fact that one of the tenors comes home to my bed and makes babies with me is icing on the cake. (I’m not the only one who likes to hear him sing.) But throughout this amazing performance of J.S. Bach’s St. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Notes from the Fatosphere

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

